Food and Health

Food is taught in Years 7 and 8 and can be chosen as an option in year 9.

At Key Stage 4 we offer two options for those interested in pursuing the subject at a higher level and at Key Stage 5 there is a Health option only.

For more information about each key stage, please click on each of the sections below.

Key Stage 3 (Years 7, 8, 9)


In Year 7 food lessons, all students learn how to prepare food in a safe and hygienic manner making full use of the cooker. The design and make tasks are based around the 'perfect pizza' and 'fresh salad ideas'.

In Year 8 food lessons, students further develop their culinary skills which are linked to 'healthy eating' and the 'eatwell guide'. All students carry out a design and make task based on pasta cookery.

In Year 9 food lessons, the emphasis is upon the further development of practical skills. This is linked to multicultural dishes. Students have the opportunity to independently display their creative skills. Food hygiene and the careful presentation of food are also addressed.

Key Stage 4 (10, 11)

GCSE Food Preparation and Nutrition

The areas of study include:

  • Food Commodities
  • Principles of Nutrition
  • Diet and Good Health
  • The Science of Food
  • Where food comes from
  • Cooking and Food Preparation

Year 10    

The focus in year 10 is on the areas of study. The range of foods and ingredients studied will come from the major commodity groups eg fruit and vegetables; meat, fish, eggs etc and reflect current recommended guidelines for a healthy diet.

For each food commodity the students study:

  • their value within the diet;
  • their features and characteristics with reference to their correct storage to avoid food contamination;
  • their working characteristics and origins.

The students have lots of opportunities to prepare and cook dishes, as well as  experiment with the food commodities.

Year 11  

The students complete two pieces of Non-Examination  Assessment (NEA) and the written exam.

The first NEA (15%) is based on a food investigation and is set by the exam board at the beginning of year.

The second NEA (35%) is a practical assessment, again based on an exam board task set during the Autumn term, this will involve the students in research, trialling, planning, preparing and cooking dishes and evaluating their work. Once these are complete the focus is on exam preparation and revision.

Cambridge National - Health and Social Care Level 2

The course involves learning a wide range of skills through focused activities such as role- play, case studies and scenarios. These skills will be used to demonstrate how to carry out the assessment tasks in a practical health, social care and early years setting.

The students complete four units:

RO21 - Essential values of care for use with individuals in care settings - written  examination in year 10.

RO22 - Communicating and working with individuals in health, social care and early years settings - centre assessed, exam board moderated.

RO26 - Planning for employment in health, social care and early years settings - centre assessed, exam board moderated.

RO31 - Using basic first aid procedures - centre assessed, exam board moderated.

Sixth Form

Health and Social Care

For more information about this subject at KS5, please click here to view the relevant subject leaflet at the bottom of the page.